friday night

“Wow, you got tenure early,” they’d say to me. “What was your secret?”

I said, “It’s pretty simple. Call me any Friday night in my office at ten o’clock and I’ll tell you.”

A lot of people want a shortcut. I find the best shortcut is the long way, which is basically two words: work hard. As I see it, if you work more hours than somebody else, during those hours you learn more about your craft. That can make you more efficient, more able, even happier. Hard work is like compound interest in the bank. The rewards build faster.

The same is true in your life outside of your job.

Randy Pausch – “The Last Lecture”

one of the things I consider the foundation of a fulfilling life is working hard. july fills precisely this pattern for me – it is and will be exhausting, terribly demanding, but it brings a lovely balance between what I care for, and what I want to spend a lot of time doing. the work-life balance or equilibrium isn’t that out-of-the-book percentage of things you have to do, but the things you feel you need to do to push yourself forward – whether it’s in the work life, or the life that happens outside work. enthusiasm starts to slowly build up, and a general feeling of accomplishment starts to settle in. having inspiring people around is sure to make a difference too.

more to come from this series.

Leave a Reply

